Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Glow plugs don't fit?

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by thedrip, Nov 11, 2006.

  1. thedrip

    thedrip 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Bought some cheapy 1110's to replace what I have, to get it running, changed one, then realize the electrical connectors don't fit. This a common thing, a military truck thing or a year thing? Truck is running on 7 glowplugs right now, I can live with that since it doesn't have a tranny. I'll replace the wiring harness for the glowplugs when I rewire the rest of the truck. Just wanting to know if theres a reason why my glowplugs and connectors have 3/16" quick disconnects instead of 1/4" like every other glowplug I've come accross.
     
  2. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    PLYY-ARS M' Boy! Pliars:wink1:

    Just being a smart azz:crazy: I've got no idea why.
     
  3. k204dr

    k204dr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    I think its the military wiring harness. my engine was the same way. had smaller connectors on the glowplugs than my civi model.
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,167
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    I just installed three Autolite 1110's (until the Quick heats get here) and my plugs fit em no problem.

    Rene
     
  5. Smitty

    Smitty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Posts:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Crestview, FL
    Bought some AC60's for my 1031. I just laid the glowplug to the grinder and used the original harness. Just a touch of the stone on each side and they'll hook right up to your existing system.

    Smitty
     

Share This Page