Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Going Mad!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by eclipse, Mar 1, 2006.

1. eclipse

eclipse 1/2 ton status

I hate having to put up an advice thread but I'm having a hard time with this. I've had my 85 K10 for almost 6 years now and I'd never planned on selling it. My dad bought it for me when I graduated highschool and since then I've painted it twice, lifted it, and put two motors in it.

For the last year or two I've wanted to swap it to 3/4ton for a few reasons, so it has a stronger 14ff rearend, lower gearing (has 3.08s) and so I can tow with it. I've figured out what its going to cost me for axles that have been gone through, I dont want old parts on my DD and the cost of new wheels and tires. Also the first paint job I did was black and I would like to go back to black, the current dark blue did not turn out well at all. For some of the major things I'd like to do, after that there are alot of minor things to do.

I've wanted a K30 crewcab srw ever since I barrowed a friends. It would seem more practical to me to pick up a truck that is already 1ton and setup to tow (my 77 K20) and have the extra cab space than it would be to fix up my 85 k10.

I already have 3 trucks, my 85 k10, my 77 k20 offroad truck and my 84 cab/chassis project. I really can't afford to add another one. Yesterday a guy who just fixed up a 84 crewcab with fresh black paint and a 4in lift was talking about selling it, then he changed his mind after I had already gotten in the mind set of selling my K10. So now I'm deciding weather to continue my plans with my K10 of making it a k20 or get it ready to put a sign in the window and search for a crewcab. I haven't sold a truck yet, and I hadn't planned on selling one. What should I do :(:(:(

[​IMG]