Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Going to do my first paint job soon.. Just a few questions.

Discussion in 'The Body Shop' started by y5mgisi, Aug 20, 2004.

1. y5mgisi

y5mgisi 1 ton status

Well i am a beginner although I have been there through-out An entire operation once. And I can make rattle can jobs look good to. Im not an idiot(although im sure a few would beg to differ) and i do have commen sence. So I got my blazer all primered And im going to paint it black. I want it to look good. Not show car quality but just good. So im thinking i'll just buy a gallon of black and a gallon of clear and use the all of both gallons. Trouble is i dont want to mess this up. I need to know how much of what i need to mix with the black. How much of what if anything to mix with the clear. Do i need to wet sand and what is the purpose of it? How long do i need to wait before it can set out in the rain or get washed? Is it ok if my primer got rained on? And just anything else you think that i should know as im only real "up" on the basics. All advice is wecome and gladly accepted. Thanks in advance! /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

Mitchell

2. Eric M.

Eric M. 1/2 ton status