Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Good locking mechanism capable on ice and snow

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by MilpitasK5, Nov 26, 2002.

1. MilpitasK5

MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

I've been looking into lockers and it doesn't look like a locker would be the best bet for me being that I go to the snow quite a bit. I'm a rookie 4 wheeler and want to minimize wheel spin in the ruts and rocks and stuff but not get into fish taling when I get up to the snow on the icey roads...
    Would a limited slip be better? Any other suggestions? /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif
    Thanks,

2. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

chains...... just messin with ya man, i have no clue, i wish i get a chance to drive in snow this year, that would be fun. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. MilpitasK5

I'll be going up to Kirkwood all season so if you're ever up for it, let me know. We could get some passes for pretty cheap too! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    Almost had to buy chains last year when front hubs weren't locking. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif $150

4. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

maybe a bit too far! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif, i'll find something closer, but it would have been fun /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

5. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

I can tell you I drove my blazer last year in snow and ice with lockers front and rear, you have to be very carefull because locked in front will make you understeer a lot.
    Also the rear tends to kick and fishtail.