Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

GOOD SAND TIRES

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jessegallegos, Dec 9, 2001.

1. jessegallegos

jessegallegos Registered Member

I am new to fourwheeling and have a ? about tires. My 1982 blazer now has 31x10-15s goodyear wranglers AT/S with about 50% on them. They work great but I don't like that I have to air them down to 13 psi . I would like a tire that is made for highway,sand ,& mud and also don't have to air down as much I live in Florida and around where I live we have alot of loose sand and some mud holes (looks like sand box sand) The two things I would care about is #1 sand and 2 highway use(Low noise)

I was thinking of the mickey t baja belted

Thank you,JESSE

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Airing down is necessary for any tire to work well in the sand. I air my TSL's down to 7 psi in the sand...
    A tire designed for mud will perform better in sand and mud than an A/T tire will.

Most radial MT's under 35" are quite street friendly and wear well if rotated properly. Check into Pro-Comp's and BFG mud T/A's...

Rene

<font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/project_T2> tRusty pics...</a>

3. Pugsley

Pugsley 1/2 ton status

The Mickey T Baja Claws, and the Yokohama Geolander M/T's are killer in sand - Of the two, the Yokohama will be the best overall, due to a better compound for the highway. I'm fixing to go to the Yoke's myself once the current skins have given up the ghost.

......And knowing is half the battle
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>

4. 89GMCSuburban

89GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status