Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Got hydro assist on.... Broke driveline

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MNorby, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    Well, got my hydro installed tonight. Work ok but need to turn pump up more or put smaller pulley on pump but can still turn tires against hard object and slide truck over :laugh:. Well, Though I oughta truck a wall climb since I haven't really put the narrowed bed to good use yet after doing it. Have some storage containers out back behind the shop. Well, my PTO front drivline gave loose where I jointed the stock tube from the CV to the tube of the PTO for the sqaure flange. Next time I will sleeve and plug weld the joint (was kinda wondering if would hold up anyways but this was a good test :rolleyes:) Well, the pics speak for themselves....
    I pointed out the highest tread mark in the one pic. Thought about getting out to take a pic there but though I could go higher and BOOOOM and came to a crashing fall. Ahhhh, good times. Trial and error.
    Moral of the story.... Hydro is awesome.

    DSC02505.JPG

    DSC02499.JPG

    DSC02498.JPG

    DSC02504.JPG
     
  2. DougK20

    DougK20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Seems ya "can't win for losing" sometimes! Goodwork on the assist.
     
  3. perp

    perp 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler AZ
    did you tap your stock box (in the steel) or use the alum caps with the fittings? I amm rounding up parts for this and your real world input would be appreciated. alot of what i have read seems to be frome people who have ideas but haven't done it yet themselves. also is your pump stock or did it actually need the upgrades too? Thanks

    BTW cool doors and taper :waytogo:
     
  4. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    I did mine in the housing as shown on www.k5crawler.com. It was cake, just keep cleaning the metal filings as they appear when drilling and tapping. I had to grind the end off the pipe side of the 1/4" pipe to 1/4 (-4) JIC fitting so it wouldn't hit the internals in the box but no prob. I can take pics of the box if you'd like.
     
  5. perp

    perp 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler AZ
    please do, pics would be great. i understand what you said, but pics point out the subtle details
     
  6. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    I'll get some monday when I go to the shop.
     
  7. perp

    perp 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler AZ
    Thanks
     
  8. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    Sorry for the delay but here are pics of the box...

    DSC02506.JPG

    DSC02507.JPG
     
  9. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Are those lines custom made or off the shelf? I have everything to do it including the ram and the tabs mounted, just need lines.
     
  10. perp

    perp 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler AZ
    what is the size of the hoses you are running. thanks for the pictures
     
  11. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    I made them with hydro hose we have around the shop and aeroquip fittings. They are 1/4"
     

Share This Page