Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Got my crate motor

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by PetaKane, May 5, 2002.

  1. PetaKane

    PetaKane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City OK
    Just got my deluxe 350 330hp motor thingy. A couple of you probably remember me asking about switching my TBI to carb. Well, now since I've got the carb motor, what parts do I need to get now? Old setup was stock 350TBI from 1987. Can I use the stock inline fuel pump? Do I need a pressure regulator? What will I have to do to my tranny (TH700) so it will run right? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    you got a PM
     
  3. sosamantx

    sosamantx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Posts:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere in Texas
    i'm not sure what pressure the fuel pump you have is rated at, or sure if you can just add a regulator to it? i believe most carbs run at about 6-8 psi (i'm sure someone will correct me if i'm wrong), so you MIGHT (as in maybe), have to change your fuel pump? i've just recently put this same motor in my 85K5, and i dumped my quadrajet, and bought a 625cfm Carter/AFB carb. if your old motor did not have vortec heads, you will have to modify your bracket(s) to work for the throttle cable and TV cable (for the trans.), we did not have to modify anything else for the trans. (700R4). also, since the vortec heads do not have the EGR provision in them, you have to plumb in the exhaust from somewhere. (i can help you out here, if you need help) i got a few responses from some peeps here when i had questions about 2 months ago or so. also, my stock exhaust did not fit, so i had to buy headers (which i was going to do later on), so this was an expense that i did not want right away, and also had to redo my exhaust (instead of modifying it to work, i just ran a new 3 inch single exhaust with a flowmaster muffler and hi-flow cat). that's all i can think of for now, but here's a few pics of my set up (till i get around to cleaning it up later on).

    http://sosaman.home.texas.net/blazer1.jpg

    http://sosaman.home.texas.net/blazer2.jpg

    http://sosaman.home.texas.net/blazer3.jpg
     

Share This Page