Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

gov lock

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by schmuck, Feb 21, 2003.

1. schmuck

schmuck 1/2 ton status

i would like some info i know they suck but why, what is so bad about them, are there any good things about them, is there anything imparticular you can do to make them better and dont say 14ff axle im still running 10s and i will not change them until i break them and even then ill probably go to 12s, please dont get into that i just want to know about the gov locs ive been running mine since i got the truck 2 years ago and have not had any problems i wheel about once a month and drive the truck everyday and when i wheel i whell as hard as my mostly stock truck alows[sp?]the only problem ive had is getting my fingers in there to take the clips out and put them back in other than that no complaints.

2. SkulzNBonz

SkulzNBonz 1/2 ton status

I blew mine up driving on the street. It wasn't too long after I bought the truck, and had been wheelin' it damn near every week. Had just changed the diff. gear oil, too. There is an additive, but I've heard yay and nay on whether or not to use it. The Gov Loc will fail. Do a search, there are some nice pics of some grenaded Gov Loc's out there.

John

3. lazerus

lazerus Registered Member

I have the exact same ?'s about these 'notorious' gov locks. I have searched and I see that no one likes them, and I have seen the pics of destruction.
    Gov locks are the same as G80, right? Eaton limited slip, right?
    I have one in my pick up (2wd), and I had 50 series tires and got rubber all through 1st, 2nd and got scratches in all other gears. Gov lock is still doing fine. I know that is not the same as rock climbing with 38's, but within its limits, I say it is good.