Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

grand finale on 14bff question...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by XHitman396, Jul 10, 2006.

1. XHitman396

XHitman396 1/2 ton status

Well i just got a 14bff from a fellow member, and all went well, i planned on leisurely swapping it in the k5 as i could, no rush, blah, blah live happily ever after.. all hell broke loose, and now im under time constraints and my backup vehicle i was driving until the blazer is fixed has blown up and i could go on. So i have never done anything with rear-ends before, so ive got some questions i want to ask: (ill just tell you what im doing though it may not be a question, so just jump in with your $.02 if you would do something different)

1) Brakes. It's been sitting for a while, and i open up the brakes and everything is together quite nicely, spider webs and rust, but together. I want to get everything done before i put it in the truck. So i was just going to replace the shoes and cylinders for the hell of it and have the drums turned on a lathe. The brake lines on it are kinda mangled, will the ones from my 10 bolt match up exactly or should i replace them with new ones? They look a lot like the 10 brakes, just bigger. Will there be anything different from the 10 bolt? How about the parking brake, will the hardware and stuff from the 10 bolt match up??

2) Seals, gaskets, etc. So i found out the hard way (and ignorantly) a full floating axle has a lot more to it than a sf. while i have it apart should i replace the seals on each end? What about the bearings, is it easy to tell good ones from bad ones?

3) Specifications. I looked at the 14 bolt bible from Pirate, but couldnt find the spec's one how tight to torque down the spindle nuts. Anyone know??