Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Grandad's Jimmy

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Brad, Mar 28, 2000.

1. Brad

Brad Registered Member

Grandad\'s Jimmy

Hey everyone, I'm new to the Blazer/Jimmy community. Yesterday my grandad gave my his 1984 Jimmy 4X4. What an honor. It has 37,000 original miles on it. In fact, everything on it is original, except the tires (original size though). The engine is the 305 5.0L I think, it could be the 350 but I won't see it until next week when I pick it up. Anyway, I was wondering what you all would recommend as far as lifts, tires, lockers, transfer cases, transmissions, engine performance mods (fuel injection vs carbs), headers, exhaust...I think you get the idea. ANY help would be appreciated as I am totally new to these vehicles. (current 4X4 is 1982 Jeep Scrambler that is now for sale)Thanks, Brad

2. Eagle86K5

Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

Re: Grandad\'s Jimmy

Brad my friend, first thing I would suggest is to start back on page 20 or so and read most of the questions and answers on here. You will be well informed in no time at all ....[​IMG]

<font color=green>Eagle86K5[​IMG]

<font color=red>Only guy I know that can get out of line in a one car funeral

3. '73 K5

'73 K5 1/2 ton status

Hey Brad. 37,000 miles huh? Sounds pretty high. You better sell it to me before something breaks. lol. Just kidding dude. Do what Eagle says and you'll learn a ton.

'73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad

4. Brad

Brad Registered Member