Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ground Wire?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by chevyfumes, May 24, 2001.

  1. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    I want to replace the old ground from the engine to the fire wall, and was wondering if I should disconnect the battery first. I just didn't want to have to reset all my presets on my stereo, is the reason!

    <font color=blue> I'd rather have a bottle in front of me, than a frontal lobotomy!
     
  2. kpanza

    kpanza 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Posts:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Forest, Orange County, California
    I don't think you need to if you are just replacing it, just don't go without one.
     
  3. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    You do not have to disconnect the battery to put the new ground wire on. Just keep the wire away from anything positive.
     
  4. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    Thanks![​IMG]

    <font color=blue> I'd rather have a bottle in front of me, than a frontal lobotomy!
     

Share This Page