Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

  1. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Ok I think I need to replace the guages in my '78. The temp guage doesnt work, oil freaks out sometimes, and the speedo is finally takin a dump. I dont want to do Auto Meters, I already have thse in my '72. My question is where is a good place to get stock replacement guages? And about how much would they run, for all of em? Thanks.
     
  2. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    I would start at a wrecking yard...
     
  3. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    If you have a faulty ground strap for your gauges you will experience problems like that. Might want to check into it before you spend $$$$ on new gauges. Just a thought.
     
  4. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    I would hit the boneyards and if ya can't find any there go with some Auto Meters since they're probably cheaper than new OEM gauges...
     
  5. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Yeah, no faulty ground straps, one guage straight out took a crap. I have a set from the junkyard byt wanted new ones. The cant be more then my Auto Meters. Come on guys where else?
     
  6. mccomas

    mccomas 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Posts:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, NC
    page 49 of the lmc catalog. they average between 39 and 59 bones each. if you do not have an lmc catalog, shoot me a pm and i will provide you with all the details...

    LMC
     
  7. Goober

    Goober 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mayberry (Auburn, WA)
    I can check in my "box-o-guages" and see if I saved the ones from my 78 if you are interested.

    But if they are acting funny then replacing them might not fix the problem. Check your circuit board first to make sure you have good connections. Where the circuit card connects to the wiring harness is where you see bad connections.
     
  8. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Yeah LMC, I seem to have misplaced my copy. Only one guage is acting funny, one is gong bad and the other is dead. I didnt just want to replace 1 guage and have 1 guage and 4 faded ones so im gonna replace all of them. If the ones from your 78 are in good condition I might be intrested, thanks.
     
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Have you actually checked the cluster like Goober suggested? With that many problems, it's much more likely that there are problems with the circuits feeding the gauges, not the gauges themselves.

    The gauges themselves can and do fail, but to have problems with all three in one vehicle, at the same time, is pretty unlikely, compared to having bad senders, corroded connections, and messed up wiring, any of which would still exist with new gauges.

    I've personally had really good luck with stock GM gauges, except the tachs I've had/have that according to my calculations are about 500RPM off.
     
  10. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Sorry, I should have been a little clearer I guess. The tem guage pooped out so long ago I cant remember, oil, about 2 years ago, and the speedo started acting up on tuesday. The only guage that might need to be checked into more depth would be oil.
     
  11. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Is the quality of the LMC guages good?
     
  12. 84mudmachine

    84mudmachine 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I bought a spedo a few months ago, it seem to be working great. The guage is a carbon copy of the original. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  13. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Is the quality of the LMC guages good?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So far everything I've ordered from LMC has been top notch /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif!
    Bill
     

Share This Page