Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gun question: Chinese SKS pricing?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by newyorkin, Aug 25, 2005.

1. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

For the resident firearms experts...

I know of a guy with a 1997 Chinese SKS. He's looking to get rid of it for $300. I'm not really considering it, but I was wondering if that was a decent price. It looks like these guns are a dime a dozen, so I don't know if that's just that they're a popular gun or if they're just not worth much...

Any insight? Thanks all! :D

Last edited: Aug 25, 2005
  2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

Back in the Omaha, Ne. area, I seen SKS's going for $100.00 all day long.

3. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

Wow, good to know...

4. gjk5

gjk5 3/4 ton status

I'm no expert, but if it's truly an SKS $300 is high for gun loving parts of the country. That being said if it is an older model or they are mistaken on it and it has the fully detachable magazine that is an OK price. I'd still love to find one of the old MAK90's that used to go for $99.

5. cbbr

cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

I had a russian one that I sold for $250. $300 seems a litle high. It is a fun gun to plink with.

6. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

Well, I wouldn't be plinking with it, I'd just be going to an indoor range during lunch hour on mondays or fridays when I work out east (that site is right near a range).

I only started noticing again cause I went shooting with my .22 earlier this week and am getting bored with the little tiny pinpricks it makes in my targets... I'm not going to buy anything soon... I need to save up for heating oil this winter...:rotfl: