Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ham test study materials?

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by alec78, Aug 22, 2004.

1. alec78

alec78 1/2 ton status

Aug 5, 2002
    I am so newbie to ham that green is not green enough. The only thing I know about it is I want to do it and I need to take a test. I've read several posts here and really see that I'll need help to learn this. Any suggestions on books (prefer them over web based study guides)

Bear in mind when I say I'm green, I mean I'm <font color="green"> GREEN </font> !!! /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
  2. Skigirl

Skigirl 1/2 ton status

Apr 2, 2001
    The test was so much easier than studying the available materials I couldn't believe it. I studied in order to understand the subject, so both books I found sucked. There's a book by Gordon West called Technician Class that has all the questions with the answers for the first ham test. Ultimately I found that one a better text and used the other text to help explain things when needed. The other text is called Now You're Talking, published by the ARRL. I found that I could not study it from beginning to end because they say a lot of stuff right at the beginning with no definitions, so you're going "Huh?" all the time.

I finally found a ham radio glossary online somewhere (Google for it) and that helped. Also I think a mentor would be VERY helpful. 88Silverado seems to know a lot. Azblazor knows a lot too.

There's a ton of frequencies talked about - that part just requires memorization.

There are online sample tests you can take to help get it right. Check it out: Sample tests
  3. 88Silverado

88Silverado 1/2 ton status

Mar 13, 2003
    Heres a good link with lots of reference material
    License Info
    Also look at the ARRL site for more info