Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hard Top Storage...Suggestions welcome/needed

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Kev71, May 9, 2002.

1. Kev71

Kev71 Registered Member

Hey guys, I'm new to the ck5........im young but trust me my blazer obsession is strong........anyway, I finally got my dream blazer..........71' orange with 4 in lift and 33s, I’ve only had it for bout a month and I’m already dying to take off my top before summer (bout 2 weeks). Problem is, i'm not sure where to store it........Ideally, i would like to hang it from the garage like Greg71, but i really dont think my Parental Units would be to excited about that idea, not to mention the work involved in that. So my simple and lazy solution would be to just rest it against the wall, but is there a reason why people dont normally do that (stress fractures?). Or would it be better to rest it flat on 2x4s? Any ideas?

2. ntaj*ep

ntaj*ep 1/2 ton status

I put mine on a tarp on like , I guess 2x4s and wrap another tarp over the top of that. Whan I lived at home my parents said no way is that going in "our" garage/yard. So I had to keep it at a friends house. I swear I checked on it like weekly. LOL. Welcome to the K5 home! It's real addicting.

3. BobK

BobK 1/2 ton status

Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    First,welcome!
    Second,1st gen tops are HEAVY!!! Try about 300LBS!!
    If you get help make sure they're from the wrestleing team(ya I read your bio)Minimun you'll need 3 guys...4 would be perfect.
    I would NOT store it on it's side like you see people doing with topper they put on half ton trucks.Remember,that top is 30 years old and while there is internal bracing(in the fiberglas) the wieght of the top on only one part of it may do some damage.