Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Has anyone ran an ARB off of CO2?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by laketex, Jul 24, 2003.

  1. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    I'm about to purchase an arb for my front 60 and want to run it off of a co2 tank which i already have. Any thoughts?
     
  2. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,970
    Likes Received:
    451
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    If the reg is set to the correct pressure and there are no leaks in the system, yes. You could also get a cheep air tank from Wal-Mart, fill it w/ CO2 and run off that if your CO2 bottle has a fixed reg.
     
  3. marv_springer

    marv_springer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Posts:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    [ QUOTE ]
    I'm about to purchase an arb for my front 60 and want to run it off of a co2 tank which i already have. Any thoughts?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Interesting.... /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif Would prolly be better cuz it would be dryer than compressed air. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Marv
     
  4. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,081
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I'm pretty sure this has been done before. Only problem is if you deplete your tank you have no way to lock up. But that is probaby an acceptable risk. Sure would save money over buying the ARB compressor.
     
  5. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    yeah i could accept that risk. I think it takes a lot to deplete a co2 tank...and if that happened, I guess I could always switch over to the 2nd one and lose my air up and air tools ability..... /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  6. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I plan on doing the same thing for a while until i build an OBA setup...
    If you look on powertanks website they have a pressure relief valve or something that you are supposed to put after the tank but before the air selenoid... thats incase the line pressure ever goes above 100psi it will blow off instead of blowing your arb seals...
    I believe its more like 80-85 psi that the ARB needs so i was planning on getting another fixed regulator in addition to the adjustable regulator because it would be very easy to bump that adjustable one and turn the pressure up or down.

    /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  7. Twiz

    Twiz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Posts:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearfield Ut.
    I don't see any reasson why it wouldn't work. Other then there being too much pressure from the C02 tank. Sure wouldn't want to blow the locker clean through the bum-cover. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
    But a cheep little pressure regulator should take care of that. Maybe, plum the ARB line into a smaller, pressure regulated tank. That might provide a little extra pice of mind.
     
  8. TheLakeRat

    TheLakeRat 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Angelo, Republic of Texas
    I just out a ARB in a Yota axle and set it up to run off of CO2. It works like a champ.
    I would guess that the bottle he's using (power tank) would engage the locker several hundred times
     
  9. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    probably more like several thousand times. THe ARB pump aint eexactly putting out the high CFM's
     
  10. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    I got a 20lb tank and regulator all ready to be put into the rig; hopefully this weekend.
     
  11. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    I use CO2 as a backup to the ARB compressor. I have the fittings to pressurize the ARB tank from the CO2 tank in case the compressor craps and the electrics are good, and I'm looking into the fittings to hook the line from the locker directly to the CO2 tank so that I have an absolute way of locking up.
    I've also acquired (from Doug Wright) a couple of manual pnumatic switches that I'd like to play with. That way I eliminate electricity from the whole thing.
     

Share This Page