Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Has anyone removed their ABS (1990)

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BigCountryx, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. BigCountryx

    BigCountryx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    If so, any problems, lights? I would assume it is about useless since the disc brake swap and about to attempt a MC upgrade. Just would like to know what to expect ar what I should do. Thanks
     
  2. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Not the same app... But my 89 P/u has the ABS disconnected and the brakes work great! Actually it stops better than any vehicle I own!
     
  3. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Same here, I don't think I have anything left of the ABS (1990).
     
  4. BigCountryx

    BigCountryx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    Should I expect any Dash lights?
     
  5. 6.2Blazer

    6.2Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    4,675
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Ohio
    I removed all the ABS stuff from my '90 and have no lights. The controller (located close to the M/C) was simply unplugged and removed, and then the hydraulic control unit was also removed and the lines replumbed.
     
  6. BigCountryx

    BigCountryx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    Thanks Guys, that's what I wanted to hear :wink1:
     
  7. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    All my hydraulic stuff is still intact. But the controller was unplugged.
     
  8. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Umm, I have no dash. :D
     
  9. Eric M.

    Eric M. 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I have a 91 and when the ABS unit at the master cylinder was unplugged, I got a dash light. On our vehicles, there is a switch at the tranfer case or 4wd shifter that switches off ABS when in 4wd. I'm planning on permanently jumping that switch on (ABS off). Just haven't had the time to track down the switch, but I see it on the shop manual wiring diagram.

    Eric M.
     
  10. BigCountryx

    BigCountryx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    Let me know if you find it.
     
  11. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    my 90' sub I switched out the 14sf for a 14ff out of a 76' 1ton and swaped on disc brakes and haven't had any problems with the brakes or lights coming on.
     
  12. BigCountryx

    BigCountryx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    :D :bow: :D
     
  13. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,015
    Likes Received:
    848
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    did you hook the parking brake back up? I had an issue with mine after the swap, I didn't hook up the parking break, and the switch stuck.
     
  14. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,540
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    my 88 with the little box on the master only came on 2 times . each time was in the 1/4 mile burn out box full power brake burn outs.:D
     
  15. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    So did this ever happen, and if so what wire am I looking for?
    Tempted to just jumper the 4wd light switch, but I'd rather be able to turn the ABS on and off indenpendant of 2wd-4wd and still have the 4wd light work. I won't be the sole driver of my '91, gotta plan for the lowest common denominator.
     
  16. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    Why do you need to turn the abs on and off?

    Can't you just pull the bulb if you are ditching it?
     
  17. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    On for street use, off for dirt use. Washboard roads totally confuse the ABS computer. Result is the rear trying to pass you at every brake use.
     
  18. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    Why not install a power-to-the abs module interupt switch?
     
  19. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    So far I've not found that or a specific fuse that I could pull in the mean time.
    I like the 4wd light wire b/c what ever programming there is, is designed to accept that input. Turning the power on and off might work just as well, but it's the less clean approach.
     
  20. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    The 4wd switch wiring comes down from the dash under the carpet through the floor in the 85 and 87 K5's I have seen. Why not just splice in a switch to see what happens? Would have to be a three pole switch I would guess to get it to work right.

    Has anybody verified that the abs is disabled while in 4wd? I don't have one so I don't know. Since the trucks don't have communication networks, I would assume that the 4wd switch would be a direct input to the abs module. Try to find the wire there.
     

Share This Page