Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Has anyone swapped in a NP205 into 1990 or newer GM?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by CK5, May 3, 2002.

  1. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Just stumped on what to do with the VSS.
     
  2. therobzilla

    therobzilla 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Steve,

    I have a 72 First gen with a 92 camaro motor under the hood. I use a 4 pulse generic vss with the system and it worked ok, had to tell the computer what it was but that was a chip programming issue.

    The company I bought the vss from was Arizona TPI, and it had a special adaptor on it for the 205. Works like a champ and no leaks.

    My ideas.

    Rob
     
  3. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Hmmm, I can find stuff to put new motors etc in old rigs but not old stuff in new rigs. I will check it out though, do they have a website?
     
  4. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
  5. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Try www.jagsthatrun.com - they have many choices on VSS - I bought one from them for my '79 w/TPI setup - $70. Mine went on the cruise control under the hood, not sure what a 90 CC is like, but they have them all. And.........they know their stuff...........
     
  6. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    I called them before, they couldn't help me. Keep in mind your speedo is mech and mine is elec.
     
  7. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    True, but mine is not anywhere near the speedo, it is on the cable..............guess you don't have a cable? Either way, I'm surprised they don't have one for the output on the transfer case, they told me that was my other choice.
     
  8. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    I have no speedo cable, just wires.
     
  9. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Give Street & Performance a try, their number is 501-394-5711. I would talk to Mark, he is the owner and is very friendly and knowledgable. They are located in Mena Arkansas. http://www.tunedport.com
     
  10. Russ

    Russ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Summerdale AL
    Steve,
    I went through all this when I put the first doubler in my 90 Blazer. There are 91 4-door dually trucks out there with the 205 and VSS, but very few of them. There were about 4 of them at work when I was out in San Diego. I got the part numbers from them and tried to get the tailhousing from GM, but I was unable to locate one. I even went through Parts Mike nd he could not locate one either. I tried all the big speedo places and nobody had anything that would work either, so I wound up machining the tailhousing on my 205 and put the gear from the 241 in there.
    Russ
     
  11. Donovan

    Donovan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Steve call me at work this morning if you want to 303-423-6152. I can machine the tail housing like Russ said and I have a 241 VSS gear here all ready. Let me know.
     
  12. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Awesome, see you on Monday.
     
  13. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Russ, just curious, do you have the part number? Also, did GM tell you that it was discontinued?
     
  14. Russ

    Russ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Summerdale AL
    Steve,
    It has been a couple of years, so I am not sure if I still have the numbers floating around. I will look for it. GM did say that the part was discontinued and I could not find one on a shelf anywhere.
     
  15. 70jimmy

    70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Posts:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    Steve there was a shop in Colorado Springs a few years ago that helped me with some speedo issues. If it is still open maybe they can help. The Speedo shop was its name then.
     
  16. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Thanks, Donovan is going to fix me up.
     
  17. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,073
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Sorry to dig up old stuff...but have you been able to get this done yet? I may be looking into doing this myself so I was curious as to the outcome.

    Just for clairification - when you are referring to machining the tail housing, are you modifying it for the external switch or for an internal gear?

    Thanks for all the good info!!
     
  18. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Yep, Donovan here in Denver (Ram grinding) can now do them, you have to get a tone ring (40 pulse gear) from the dealer (20.00) and have it taken down a little depending on what kind of 205 shaft you have etc..
     
  19. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    I don't know if you saw my other post but this should also work for you.

    http://www.dakotadigital.com/Detail.cfm?Category=106&PartNumber=SEN-01-1

    I have a 205 and a digital dash and this works for me. Not sure if the pulse interval is the same as stock GM. My dash allows for adjustment (i.e. changing tire size and/or gear ratios) for fine tuning. I would assume you are not running stock/gears or tires so adjustability will definitely be an issue.
     

Share This Page