Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Have 400/203 right now, what will it take to make it 400/205?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dawson444, Jun 6, 2003.

  1. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I have a 400/203 right now, I also have a 205 for a TH400 laing around. Is it just a matter of getting the 400/205 adapter and bolting everything together and getting driveshaft lengths changed? Will the 400 output shaft length and spine count be ok? Anything else? Thanks!
     
  2. Mudzer

    Mudzer 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Spend the money on a Doubler - you are nearly there! It's well worth it. I dont think I know a dissatisfied Doubler owner. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    400 output for a 205 is different, so is the adapter. It won't cost much more for a doubler, don't waste that rare 203/400 combo by converting it to a 205... If nothing else, sell it and buy what you want, then pocket the difference.
     
  4. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    What about the output is different? I just don't have the money for the doubler right now. I would hold onto everything and go back later and do it, just not now. My 203 won't stay in gear and it is pissing me off. I was thinking about twin sticking the 205 and putting it in there as a fuly functioning T case until I do the doubler. Now its looking like that isn't going to happen. Can anyone shed some light on where to get a rebuild kit for a 203? Thanks!
     
  5. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    The output lengths are different, you have to completely disassemble the tranny to swap them. Also, the 400 205 is not common or cheap, though common 205s can be modified for the right input to be installed. The adapter is also hard to find. If the 203 is popping out of gear, it could be just the shifter. Talk to (PM) Gimreaper since he is our resident 203 evangelist and expert...
     
  6. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Already played with the shifter. That isn't it. Thanks for the help though!
     
  7. seanschevy

    seanschevy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    if u want to sell that 205 ever give me a email. I could really use it. Seandkd@aol.com thanks and good luck hope u work something out
     
  8. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Dawson, the 205 you have will not just bolt to the trans even with changing the adapter. The th400 uses a totally different output shaft for the 203 then the 205. You will either need another output shaft installed in the trans or get the correct trans.
     
  9. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    i'll take your 203.
     

Share This Page