Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Have Fuel Cell...now how do I install it?**DONE THANKS GUYS**

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by stallion85, Jul 18, 2005.

  1. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
    Alright guys,

    I took leave all next week so I can finally get to my Dad's and finish my truck up. I am finishing the install on my Bumpers/winch and dropping the old cracked fuel tank and installing my 22 Gal Jaz Fuel Cell! I am going to install it in the bed area of the K5 just over the axle.

    I have a carb and the mech fuel pump on the block, do I need another fuel pump?

    How do I hook up the lines? There are only two fittings; issue and return?

    Can I just tap into the lines from where the OEM tank connected to them?


    Thanks,
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2005
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    me thinks there should be a write up on this...

    j
     
  3. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    X2 :D
     
  4. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Make sure your tank has a return line, as far as fuel lines you will need a 3/8" feed the the mechanical pump which will work just fine, and if you have a return it will need to be 5/16's which will both fit over -6 AN fittings with a little work. For the vent line run it up and make sure there is a loop in it or it will spit fuel at you. Ive done a couple installs, they arent too bad. And you probably can tap into the factory lines if you want to. Also make sure that tank is secure!
     
  5. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
    Cool, ok so......make sure it is very secure...check. Return and issue line.....which one on the fuel cell is it? I assume one has a pickup at the bottom and the other doesn't?

    So you are also saying close the vent line to keep from spitting fuel out. Will this cause any probs?

    Oh ya and here is a pic for Sh!t$ and giggles!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT

    Maybe I could snap some pic's as I go along and do a little write up for the Tech Article page?? :rolleyes:
     
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    That would be great :bow:
     
  8. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    it should be labeled where the pick up and such is. But no, dont close the vent line, just loop the tubing in like a 3 or 4" circle a couple time a few feet from the cell then run it a few inches further after that.
     
  9. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT

    Do you have a picture of what you are describing? I am a little confused since I have really never swapped a fuel tank out, just dropped one when I my bud put in his shackle flip. Finding a write up on these installs is a PITA.

    If I can get this done right and clean enough I will post a lot of pic's and explanation.

    Thanks for the help Zcarzar :wink1:
     
  10. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
  11. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    Dude, you're making it much harder than it really is. Get your old tank out, set the new one in place. Your mechanical pump will have a "to carb" line and a return line. If you position the cell so the fuel pickup is in the passenger rear side, the fitting on that side goes to the carb. . I think I bought 10ft of 3/8" line to connect the cell to the factory hard lines which will be right under the fuel cell.
    You can buy the mounting straps for them from Jegs or Summit. About $30 for the set if I remember. I chose not to buy them and used some heavy metal strap. I used the bolts around the top of the fuel cell for the top mount and then mounted the bottom parts right to the bed. I believe I have 8 or 10 total mounting points compared to the 4 that you get with the "preferred" mounting method. I'm a cheap ass ;)
    And no, IT DOES NOT MOVE! I have some matting under it to stop the squeaking/metal on metal/sliding. I have pulled, pushed with it empty and full. You have seen me. You would think I could make it move a little but it won't

    http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=334&fileid=1478591&groupid=258862&folderid=196051&curRec=1&folderview=thumbs&ck=

    You can see in the pics how I mounted the front 2. I cut a 2" hole in the bed floor in front of the cell to run the fuel lines through.
    It's really simple if you want it to be.

    Hope that helps :waytogo:
     
  12. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
    That helps Bryan, thanks.

    What did you do with the vent line?
     
  13. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    HAHA...I didn't run one :eek1:


    Something I still need to do :p:
     
  14. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT

    Have you wheeled it like this?
     
  15. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    Sure did...on our Tellico trip. I had no problems other then when it got really steep and the piece o edelcrap was flooding on me. Drove several miles down the trail and a few more back to camp with no problems. I did notice it building pressure inside the fuel cell though. Like when you turn the cap and air comes rushing out :rolleyes:
     
  16. dave_90_blazer

    dave_90_blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melvindale, Michigan
    you can get a one way valvr to use as a roll over valve in the vent line, I know summit/jegs has them, then just put the valve at the cell, then just run the vent hose through the hole you run the fuel lines through to under the car, put a filter on the end if desired(I would) you can just use any filter that will fit the hose from the autoparts store, all it is for is to keep dirt out of the line, clean/replace often if you get muddy
     
  17. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT

    I am still a little confused as I am retarded......The cell has two lines issue and return. My factory hard lines have a issue/return/vent. I hook up the issue and return from the cell to the factory lines and put a valve on the vent line?

    Pictures would be awesome if anyone could post them up :rolleyes:

    Thanks for trying to help this retard out :D
     
  18. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    The cell should have a vent line :crazy:
     
  19. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    The cell itself doesn't have one that I know of...just the pickup and return lines

    http://www.jazproducts.com/fuelcell.htm#PRO1

    EDIT: Scratch that...the vent is in the D ring lid.
    Forget about running a vent Jeff..you're covered as am I
     
  20. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT
    Cool, so I can just plug the vent line......? :doah: :D
     

Share This Page