Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Have you done your paintjob yourself?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Sammy, Jun 19, 2001.

1. Sammy

Sammy 1/2 ton status

I was just wondering who of you guys and girls painted your rig yourself. And if so, how. I'm looking to do it myself. Paintshops over here seem to want to get their companies income for the rest of the year on my rig alone.

"1988 K5 Grand GT Blazer Silverado in the Netherlands."

2. AussieK5

AussieK5 1/2 ton status

I've done a couple of my vehicles and I'm in the middle of doing a fix up on my 73 K5 (just about ready for colour).I'm all self taught after playing around with street cars and what I've found is it is fairly labour intensive to get a good paint job, don't expect to get a quality job the first time unless your real patient. Include in your costs good how to books, beer for buddies when rubbing back, body filler, a decent compressor, spray gun/s, airline, masks, sandpaper, tape, paint stripper, thinners, prep solutions, primer, 3-6lt of paint (margin for mistakes and type of job), maybe a litre or two of clear, buffing compound, buffer and alot time and elbow grease. That said its still cheaper to DIY, your left with some cool tools for your workshop and a fair amount of pride in your rig. You just have to be patient enough to keep trying until you get it right. I'd reccomend having a go to anyone who has half a brain and can keep sight of the end goal. Good luck.

3. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

I Helped a bud do it once. Big thing is prep. If the body isn't right you going to have problems. Best thing to do is go find a book on painting and body work.