Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HD tie rod Question

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by Seventy4Blazer, Jun 3, 2003.

  1. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    ok folks, i am going x-over some day. and maybe highsteer. but if i have a problem with the zero rates and the high steer then i wont. question is this....
    -will a stock location HD tie rod from ORD work with the ORD high steer arms? or is there a length change?
    thanks a bunch.
    Grant
     
  2. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    anybody?
    Grant
     
  3. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,684
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    [ QUOTE ]
    ok folks, i am going x-over some day. and maybe highsteer. but if i have a problem with the zero rates and the high steer then i wont. question is this....
    -will a stock location HD tie rod from ORD work with the ORD high steer arms? or is there a length change?
    thanks a bunch.
    Grant

    [/ QUOTE ]


    56" Center-to-center measurement of stock tierod setup (D60, stock position on knuckles)
    53" Center-to-center measurement of High-Steer setup (D60 again)
    49.5" Length of actual highsteer Tie Rod (add the TRE's to get to the 53" measurement above)

    No idea what a standard ORD tie rod length is....but that should get you started.

    /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  4. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    hmm, and i dont think they are adjustable by 3 inches total...
    bummer.
    thanks man.
    Grant
     
  5. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    They're quite a bit different, however, they're probably enough different that you could cut one end totally off and drill and tap it again. Or sell the rod complete and start over.
     
  6. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    bummer. not sure if i will be keeping anything steeringwise stock, so i will have to wait ethier way.
    thanks though.
    Grant
     

Share This Page