Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HD tv

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by sled_dog, Feb 3, 2006.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    First I've sat down and watch anything but an Upconvert DVD or normal TV. Well I must say, that as it stands, HD programming through Digital Cable on our HD tv, is awesome. It looks noticeably better as compared to standard TV. I'm impressed. I can't wait until everything is in HD. Hope they start filming things intentionally wide screen more often(a trend I'm noticing with more of the drama shows and such).
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I have a 57" Widescreen HDTV and I know what you mean. I can deffently see the difference in regular TV and HDTV shows. My HDTV has a setting that streatches regular shows too fill the screen.
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    as does mine but I pick up a little bit of distortion once in a while and randomly things like the ticker on the bottom of the news channels won't be fully visible or the logo in the corner, which pisses me off to think I'm not seeing everything(all of the movies I own are widescreen for this exact reason).
     
  4. 84k5

    84k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 13, 2000
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    HD is for suckers. It's all about the antenna.:surepal: :pimp1:
     
  5. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: What antenna ??:haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: I haven't had a antenna for TV for over 20 years.
     
  6. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    So does it take like 15 minutes to change the channel with digi cable, that was the one thing I noticed about it and didnt like, my big screen already takes awhile to change probably be 1hr of black time between switching the channel by the end of the day....
     
  7. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    i never flip channels anymore. always use the guide. much faster.
     
  8. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    just changing the channel with my big screen or digi cable not just flipping through them, so you enter 55 and the screen goes black... 1 1000 2 1000 3 1000... I know it's not actually that long but it's not instant...
     
  9. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    when I buy an HDTV, you can bet your bottom dollar that I'm gonna use an antenna with it. Why pay for HD broadcasts when they are beamed to your house for free? thats crazy talk. I don't need no stinkin' cable, except for internet. :grin:

    j
     
  10. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Doesn't take long to change at all. As normal as digital cable is(slower than normal cable but not excessive). I remember when my uncle got Digi cable when it first came out. it was slower then. The TV is fast and responsive so it doesn't add anything to it. Its not like old projections :wink1:
     
  11. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I gotta have the full digital cable with all the movie channels !!!!
     
  12. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    lol, costs to much for all them channels. Rather have the money for 4x4 parts and tools. :D

    j
     

Share This Page