Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Headers on a TBI motor??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sled_dog, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Want to put headers on my TBI motor when I do my motor swap soon. I was just noticing the one bracket looks a lot like the older A/C bracket that mounts to the manifold.
     
  2. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    I know with my thorleys, one 'leg' of the AC bracket has to be cut off. In this pic between the #1 & #3 plugs you can see the end of the bracket that I had to cut. I think this is what you are asking about.
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    don't htink it really is, I have a picture now
    [​IMG]

    It looks similar to your setup. I've seen people put a socket between the header and the bracket and it work quiet well. Think I may just chop the second one off like you did and use a socket or something for a spacer.
     
  4. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Im trying to remember what the front bolt was setup like, but I think there was a stock spacer already on the front bolt. Mine is a diff setup i had ac drivers side, and non serpentine belts.
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    right, there is no spacer there for me. Just hte maifold itself.
     

Share This Page