Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Headlight switch shorting out??????????

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by shane, Aug 28, 2001.

  1. shane

    shane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prince George, BC, Canada
    Saturday my dash lights quit working. Sunday night my taillights quit working, headlights worked fine but nothing else. Finally made some time to look at it tonight and found a twenty amp fuse blown and also a five amp fuse blown. Replaced it and turned on my headlights, blew the twenty immediately.

    For a couple of weeks now my dash lights dimmer control would not work, either full bright or off. Does this sound like my headlight switch is shorting out?? I have halogen sealed beam lights but they have been there for over a year. Could they gradually toast my switch? If not my switch, what else can I check?

    Shane


    Never argue with idiots; They will drag you down to their level and beat you up with experience [​IMG]
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Shane, something suspicious like the dimmer not working, I'd go get a couple of the switches form the wrecking yard to test. Easy to swap. (probably could even do it without removing yours if you have small hands)

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    No anti-theft measures on your truck? No pity when its stolen
     
  3. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    I'm not too sure on a '91 Blazer...if the switch is in the dash like all the older ones, a new cost $10 at Autozone. There is no fuse for headlights in the fuse box....the switch has a built in overload. Sounds like a problem with a short somewhere in the tail lights if the fuse is blowing. Done any "improvements" lately?

    Michael[​IMG]
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm>www.jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm</a>
     
  4. lgk5

    lgk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    slc,ut.u.s.a
    my burb did that every time it rained , never fixed it just put new fuse in and didn't use the dash lights any more,
    the burb was just a beater so it was ok
     
  5. shane

    shane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prince George, BC, Canada
    Didn't touch a thing... I have to buy a new switch anyways as I broke the one I pulled out...long story...

    The fuse I blow also has my stereo on it which I wired up the day before the problems started. So I pulled the deck and wired it direct to the battery and still the fuse will blow. I`m kinda at a loss. When I put in a new switch and it blows another fuse, then I`ll get really pissed and start ripping stuff apart until I find it. All I know is I have a dead short right now.

    Shane

    Never argue with idiots; They will drag you down to their level and beat you up with experience [​IMG]
     
  6. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Try pulling your head unit entirely, and check for any leads that you may have knocked loose during installation (ashtray light, dash lights, etc) Is there any chance you may have connected your old stereo light lead to a ground?

    If the shoe fits, get another one just like it
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  7. shane

    shane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prince George, BC, Canada
    I will check right after work, the only wire that is still hooked up to the factory harness is my ground off of my deck...If you are right there will be some damn fine canadian beer sitting in my fridge for any tim,e you come through my neck of the woods. [​IMG]

    Shane

    Never argue with idiots; They will drag you down to their level and beat you up with experience [​IMG]
     
  8. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Cut that ground wire off and see what happens - usually there isn't a ground in the factory harness, they ground through the antenna lead instead.

    If the shoe fits, get another one just like it
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  9. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The manufacturers don't run a ground wire to anything unless it's absolutely necessary. Sounds like the "ground" wire from you harness is really the feed that powered the lighting in the factory radio. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  10. shane

    shane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prince George, BC, Canada
    Damn!! Pugley kicks ass!!

    I changed the wire, and voila!! No more problem. Except I busted my headlight switch trying to figure out how to get the shaft out so I had to buy a new one anyways but, hey! now I have dimming dash lights again!

    Pugsley, Anytime you venture into the great white north, theres a beer waiting for you. (Actuallly a 60oz`er of crown if you`re up here soon [​IMG])

    Shane

    Never argue with idiots; They will drag you down to their level and beat you up with experience [​IMG]
     
  11. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Hey cool! we'll keep that in mind!![​IMG]

    1 tequila 2 tequila 3 tequila Floor
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     

Share This Page