Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

headlights quit - is there a headlight relay?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by TX Mudder, Apr 24, 2002.

  1. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I know that's probably a dumb question, but I don't know. I can see what appears to be my hazard relay and my turn signal relay, but it looks like there is a third relay or box or something on the fuse box.
    The markings on my box are somewhat faded and hard to ead.
    The fuse box is from something like a 77-79 k10 (it has bus fuses not glass fuses.)
    Can anyone think of another reason my dealights would not work? They were working fine until I took the truck and and beat the snot out of it.
    My brake lights work, my turn and hazard lights come on when I turn on the headlights, but the headlights themselves are dark.
    I tried jiggling both headlight sockets, but it didn;t do anything. Both headlights are a few months old and I just can't believe they boith went dead at the same time no matter how hard I beat on the old truck.
    -- Mike
     
  2. fourwheelerjeff

    fourwheelerjeff 1/2 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    meadow, tx; in the boonies
    pull the headlight socket and check for electricity with your multimeter, or check continuity on your headlights
     
  3. SkulzNBonz

    SkulzNBonz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    4,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC, Oklahoma
    The headlight switch has a built-in relay (?) or something to that effect. Anyway, you have to replace the switch, as there is no way of resetting it.
     
  4. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    could be contamination on the contacts in the switch.
    pull it and rip it open, clean the contacts and apply silicon dielectric grease.
    to disassemble you have to bend a couple tabs.
    could be wrong mine has old glass fuse wiring
     
  5. BorregoK5

    BorregoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Ca USA
    Check your high beam switch on the floor, thats happened to me in the past. Sounds exactly like it.
     
  6. johnnyK5

    johnnyK5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, PA
    I agree. My highbeam switch puked with the same symptoms.
     

Share This Page