Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Heater controls <<update>>

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by blasterD, Feb 20, 2004.

1. blasterD

blasterD 1/2 ton status

I just bought an 86 K30 with a 6.2 and a 465/205. The truck only has 64,000 miles and It runs great except for one thing. The heater controls don't work. The fan works, and the heater core is good, but it won't switch between defrost, vent, heater, etc. My '78 (gas engine) did the same thing and it was because the vaccuum line had a leak. Do the heater controls on a diesel operate off vaccuum as well? I'm new to the diesel scene and haven't had much experience working on them. Any info would be greatly appreciated. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

2. u2slow

u2slow 1/2 ton status

Re: Heater controls

The AC heater controls do use vacuum - even on the diesel. The diesel has a vacuum pump in the "distributor hole" for this purpose.

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

[ QUOTE ]
    I just bought an 86 K30 with a 6.2 and a 465/205.

[/ QUOTE ]

/forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

That's a beautiful drivetrain combo... /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

Rene

4. blasterD

blasterD 1/2 ton status

Thanks for the info, I'm going to check it out today. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

5. blasterD

blasterD 1/2 ton status