Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hedman or Hooker headers

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by nau81blazer, Apr 26, 2004.

1. nau81blazer

nau81blazer 1/2 ton status

Hey all,
    Just a real quick question. I know that Hedman and Hooker are not extremely good headers, but if you had to choose which would you put on your rig. I'm a starving college student, so I can't afford the high quality stuff yet /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif Thanks for the input guys

--Adam /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

i consider headman and hooker good headers /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif i would run the headmans.
    i have the $65 autozone headers in my truck /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

3. 4xcrazy

4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

Yeah, i was always under the impression that the Hookers were one of the better brands out there, i have Heddmans on a Nova here, don't care for them too much, they block a couple of the spark plugs pretty bad. Hard to remove them, one i have to use a wrench to remove it.

4. nau81blazer

Thanks for the help guys! Anyone else?
    -Adam /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

5. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

Well, for the Hedman's, there are at least two different "qualities".

The elites are what I got, around $200 from Summit or Jegs IIRC.

Not having dealt with headers before, but listening to those that have, these are good headers.

The head flange surface is thick, the connection for the exhaust pipe is much better than the flat style of most other headers, and the coating seems to be pretty durable.