Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

heepster commando on K5 chassis

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bajaviking, Jun 5, 2006.

1. bajaviking

bajaviking 1/2 ton status

I have a Heepster Commando body and chassis which is in good shape and I have a complete Blazer Chassis with complete running drivetrain and I want to put them together. It seems to me that it would be easier and better to put the Heepster body on the Blazer chassis instead of adapting the whole Blazer drivetrain to the wimpy looking chassis of the Heepster. The Heepsters wheelbase is a about 101 and the Blazer is 106 so I would need to shorten the chassis on the Blazer a little. I am a pretty good welder and I feel confident that I can put it together in a stong and safe manner. Has anybody here done something similar, any tips and things to consider. Any advise will be appreciated.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2006
  2. resurrected_jimmy

resurrected_jimmy 1/2 ton status

width comes to mind as the first obstacle if the two are close in wheel base. In general the k5 is just a much larger vehicle it seems. Bust out the tape measure and see what you come up with.

3. mrk5

mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

I remember several years ago I bought a receiver hitch from a buddy with an S10, and I was surprised to find out that the S10 frame rails were further apart. At where the hitch bolted on. I was just surprised there was a difference.

The moral of the story is - as resurrected jimmy stated - get the tape and see what you find out. You never know.

4. marv_springer

marv_springer 1/2 ton status

Don't shorten the frame....

Extend the wheel cutout on the rear of the Jeep...! :thinking:

Marv

5. bajaviking