Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Heli Coil Question

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by Currank5, Jan 24, 2007.

1. Currank5

Currank5 1/2 ton status

I need to fix some stripped out spark plug holes on a motor i'm working on. I've never used heli coils before and i was wondering where to get em and what size i'd need. Any help or advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

Go to a GOOD parts store!....

NAPA or another GOOD parts house will stock them--not sure about Auto-Zone or similar places,they might not..if I knew where you live I could direct you to a place that has them...

You'll need to buy the kit that comes with the special tap and the heli-coils...the tap has different threads than a normal tap,you MUST use it..if you run out of Heli-coils,be sure to buy the same brand--other brands have their own thread,wont go in a hole tapped with a heli-coil tap..

The kits have directions,and they aren't that hard to install...use grease on the tap to help keep metal chips out of the cylinders,it'll catch them and stick to it..blow it out with an air hose before putting the plugs back in too,in case a few sneak by...:crazy:

3. Currank5

Currank5 1/2 ton status

I'm in Grafton, right outside of worcester.

Thats cool, i didnt know autoparts stores would have those. I'll try Napa but do you know of any other place that might have them as well?

This is for a foreign car (Porsche 924). I dont know if the threads would be different because of this.

Thank you.

4. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

nope,same threads..