Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Hella 500 wiring

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by fireinthehole, Dec 7, 2002.

    Anyone who has installed a Hella light kit, I need some guidance. Where did you wire the blue (power)wire? And the green wire from the switch? The instruction say where, but i'm not sure on my Sub.
    BTW, this is a driving light kit working with the high beams.
    Thanks
     
  1. Ok, how did anyone with drive/fog lights (any type) hook theirs up? Any help would be great.

    Thanks
     
  2. kumma

    kumma 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Posts:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, Michigan
    i have the driving lights on mine, i didnt wire them throught the existing light switch. they're set up through a seperate switch i mounted on the dash. i didnt like the fact that they would only work if the high beams were on. its been a while since i put them on. i'd have to chase down the wiring if you still need help.
     
  3. milspecjimmy

    milspecjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    raymond, maine
    are you using the relay that came with the kit? if so are you planning on having a switch too? or just running them off of the lights? when i did mine i did it under the terms of "I hate extra wire". i used the relay, and ran a 12 volt constant power wire from my distribution block in the console (i added it for a place to get easy acess to 12v) to the relay, so there is only one wire going out to the relay. this way my lights can be on when ever i want them. i also run 100 watt bulbs in those and never use the factory high beams.
    /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  4. Thanks for the replies. Yes I am using the relay and switch that came with the kit. I want to be able to turn them on when I want as well, not just when the high beams are on. Thats where i'm stumped. The directions the kit came with are kind of lacking. So if you guys have some pics that would be great.
     
  5. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    This schematic from Hella seems pretty straight forward to me...
    Hella Schematic
    If yours hook up like this it should be pretty easy. This print will only allow aux lights when the stock lights are on. If you want the Hellas to be independant, connect the blue wire to a "Batt" connection on your fuse box (for lights at anytime) or an "IGN" connection on your fuse box for lights only if the key is on. The green wire goes to your new lights.
     
  6. Nope, thats different instructions. It does help though. I had them working with temporary connections, just to make sure it worked. It did and after making permanant connections, they didnt work. So now I need to go back through it. Its to cold to mess around outside long with no cover from the weather.
    Thanks
     
  7. Re: Hella 500 wiring- Update

    I ahve it all wired up, and was working, but now its burning fuses. What would cause this? I tapped the cig-lighter wire for power. Any suggestions?
     
  8. bajaviking

    bajaviking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Baja
    Re: Hella 500 wiring- Update

    I don't think the wiring to the lighter can handle the amps the lights are pulling, it would be better if you could take the power directly from the battery.
     

Share This Page