Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help a Nervous Newbie......Should my Headers Glow in the Dark?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BigBen, Nov 18, 2002.

1. BigBen

BigBen 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Hey all.
    I'm new to CK5, but have been playing with K5s on and off for the last 15 years or so....

I just bought a bone stock '74 and am in the process of building it up. The first step was to put in a 383, (My first major engine work)leading us to my question.

After 4 months of downtime, we finally fired it up last night.
    The first problem was no spark. We took everything in the cap/rotor/coil (HEI) apart and put it back together. Then somehow we had spark.... /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

It took some coaxing, but after a lot of wheezing, belching, and coughing it roared to life and pissed most of the neighbors off. That was way cool, and we bumped her up to about 1800 RPM for the initial cam break-in.

I was watching the guages when I noticed a warm glow coming through the hole in the floor where I haven't replaeced the cover over my new (junkyard) SM465. When I bent down, I realized that it was my Headers brightly glowing!!!!! /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

We IMMEDIATELY shut the engine down and regrouped. We also noticed that the primarys were red-hot on all but Cyls #2,4, and 5.

The guy who was helping me didn't seem to worry, but I don't think Headers are supposed to glow.