Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HELP!!!!!!!!! Computer gurus!!!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by hi pinion, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Ok, i bought a brand new computer 5 months ago, when i first got it, it was screaming fast, now its so slooooowww,,,,its a HP pavillion 520, 512mb, 160gb, cd rom ,. bla bla,

    Its running slow, help. That is all. Also, i have comcast , wich was superfat at first, but now is really slow even with the comcast, nothing like in the beggining, it slowly got slower day by day, later bros , jacob
     
  2. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    have you defragmented the hard drive? run adaware also
     
  3. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    oh also what all is running in your system tray? over by the clock? to many things will eat up all the memory and make it run slow
     
  4. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    ?? i did system restore!!!! :) it worked, but i have to re-do EVERYTHING, like start all over, works killer now!!! even ck5 diddnt recognise my pc. I have some more memory, to make it over a full gig on the HD!!!! Later, Jacob
     
  5. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    :rotfl: Glad I could help. Oh wait, I didn't get a chance to...
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The symptoms you described are those of classic spyware problems. Go to www.lavasoft.de and download AdAware SE. Run it every few days and it will clean that crap off of your system. :cool1:

    It also helps to NOT run Internet Explorer. Using an alternate browser, such as Firefox, will prevent a lot of stuff from attaching itself to your system.
     
  7. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Yup Harry's right! Get some anti spyware programs AdAware or spybot. Keep your virus protection updated regularly, Get a good firewall. If you dont your puter will be runnng slow again in no time.
    If you havent already done so download the service pac 2 upgrade for windowsXP from Microsoft.
    Running a diferent browser is good. But IMO it will only be a matter of time till spyware and hackers target them also.
    I have IE and have no problems what so ever.
    System restore should only be used as a last resort. if you keep the junk out of your system you should never have to use it.
    A registry cleaner is also good to have.
     
  8. fordeater

    fordeater 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    Run adaware, and spybot both are free from download.com. If that doesn't fix the problem, start your computer in safe mode by pushing f8 when you are booting up your computer. Once you are started in safe mode, run adaware and spybot in safemode. This should really get rid of any crap running on your computer that you can't get rid of running regularly in windows.


    Doug
     
  9. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Thanks all, ill give that try,jacob:)
     
  10. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Don't do stupid things with your computer
     
  11. kyser_soze

    kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC Missouri
    O.K. the basic windows utilities only have reset cookies,and reset history and reset cache in it. What you need is system suite. run the registery defrag, registery fixer. delete cache, protect often used cookies (delete all others), delete web histery, run hard disk defragthat shoul spped up your system imensly. Also do you have enough ram memery not enough can slow your system down.:) Good luck. It has taken me a few years to get my computer to scream, be patient, save often, and use restore points!:)
     
  12. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Ok, i ran the software, but it says "shut -down in 60 sec, then counts down, then shuts down my computer,after like 60 sec. IS THIS NORMAL? It dosent seem normal:confused:
     
  13. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    also, system restore worked good for a little, now itas slow again:confused:
     
  14. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Save your data, do a clean install

    It's a pain, but it'll make it into the thrill killer comp again
     
  15. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    I dont get it. I am completly lost:)
     
  16. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    HEEEEEEEEELp
     
  17. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Make a complet backup of your lists, info, document, pics, files, movies, etc. then NUKE the harddrive and reinstall JUST whta you need, XP and your core programs. Then copy your files back.

    All the hidden stuff, all the factory installed crap, all the hidden creepy junk, will be gone
     
  18. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    That sounds complicated:confused:
     
  19. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    Jacob, you have a virus (or trojan/worm) that came out a while ago. I got the same thing. Microsoft has a patch for it, but you may have to download it onto another computer, and then load it onto yours. Do a search on Microsoft for it. It is a real pita due to the fact the computer only stays running for about a minute or two. Good luck.
     
  20. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Good luck, im gonna need good luck:D Ill probly just stay infected, and live with my diseased PC, :) because its beyond my capability:grin:
     

Share This Page