Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help - how difficult is it to replace ball joints?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by william_7900, Feb 10, 2006.

1. william_7900

william_7900 Registered Member

Aug 20, 2004
    I have a 71 Chev Blazer and think I'm in need of new ball joints.

1st symptom is that the inside of my front driverside tire is wearing down faster than the rest of the tire.
    2nd is that the rig just doesn't seem to drive right. I've always felt there was something wrong with the front end...

How difficult is it to replace the upper and lower ball joints (I've never done it before)?
    What tools will I need?
    I done a fair bit of wrench turning - how long should it take?

Also, how can I tell if my front springs are wearing out?
    Also, does anyone know the stock height from ground to fender well? I would like to know if my current springs are lift springs or factory...

Thanks for all your help!

2. Poohbair

Poohbair 1/2 ton status

Jan 30, 2003
    I bought the balljoints at a local alignment shop for around 35 bucks each. I took them the knuckles, and they pressed them in for free since I bought them there. Might be worth checking into at your local shops before you spend a day doing it yourself.
  3. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

Feb 27, 2000
    Assuming your front axle is a Dana 44 like the later trucks, you'll need the usual assortment of sockets and wrenches, plus the tuning fork (ball joint separator) and the magic socket (ball joint, umm, socket ... for the castle nut adjuster thing.) Search on, it's been covered a million times and there are some good tech writeups.

I'd check for damage to the springs, cracks, that sort of thing.