Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HELP how to adjust TV cable and mount hood pins

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by camokrawler, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. camokrawler

    camokrawler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central North Carolina
    I just put on a trick flow TBI spacer on my 87 truck and am having problems getting the TV cable adjusted right. any suggestions. also i purchased some mr. gasket hood pins so i dont have to deal with my finicky hood latch anymore and was wondering if anyone had some good installation tips or ideas. thanks.
    camo krawler
     
  2. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,526
    Likes Received:
    526
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    i was told by gm mech that full throttle no slack in cable. so motor off hold full throttle and pop the latch and adjust it to no slack. or if any just a tiny bit of slack.

    fix it correctly or quick death of a 700 r4 will falow.
     
  3. Orange Crush

    Orange Crush 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    St.Stephen S.C. 29479
    If you do any wheeling/flexing skip the hood pins. I have to replace my core support because I ran them for a little while and the core support cracked all around the pins.--Eric
     
  4. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
  5. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
  6. 89K5guy

    89K5guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I understand how to adjust for the factory setting but years ago i owned a 1987 350 IROC and when i bought it the trans shifted rather sluggish.My buddy (GM mechanic) told me about adjusting the TV cable.I did this and then moved the slider (i can't remember which direction now)and the trans shifted vey hard and firm:D .I drove the car a long time with no prolems.So FINALLY my question.CAn i manually adjust the TV cable on my 89 K5 to shift a little harder without damage to the trans?I know that a sloppy shift after adjustment is bad but what about a harder shift adjustment?
     
  7. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    In that article it states that you don't adjust a cable, you 'set' it to the only setting that is correct. Adjusting will just eat your trans as far as I know. Read through all that article if you get time, it's very interesting.
     
  8. johnathan

    johnathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ocean Springs,MS
    All the way out at wide open throttle,about an eighth or quater inch at idle
     
  9. johnathan

    johnathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ocean Springs,MS
    Keep doin the research and make sure the geometry is right.I think I had read somewhere that if you adjust by the way GM tells you then it will not be enough pressure.It's been a good while since I fooled with mine.Good Luck!:D
     

Share This Page