Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HELP! I can't get some wheel studs installed in my durango

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by DesertBlaze, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. DesertBlaze

    DesertBlaze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    So I took my Durango off a couple jumps. I ended up snapping 2 wheel studs in my rear right tire. I got the studs out with out any problems. I went to checkers, bought some new ones, and they ended up just turning to **** trying to put them in the hub. So I drove alll the way to the dealer, got the actual studs, and I dont' want to screw anything up. I don't have an impact wrench, so I was doubling up the nuts, using a big one to go around the stud, and then a lug nut to go over that and pull the stud through. BUT ITS NOT WORKING!!! Help...you guys better have some tricks!

    I tried a giant C-Clamp: that was no good
    I tried just using the tire and pulling the stud through with a breaker bar: no luck
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I use my hydraulic press. :cool1:
     
  3. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Pull the axle shaft and put them in with a press
     
  4. Bubba Ray Boudreaux

    Bubba Ray Boudreaux 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Posts:
    20,716
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Undisclosed Location
  5. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH



    to much tech
     
  6. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    if you read in the disk brake conversion write up it is explaned the tourqe needed to pull the stud thru is FAR more that it is ment to be aplyed, you could snap the studs just driveing down the road.

    BFH
    or press them in, oh and tech in the gerage, some of us are trying to get druck, and dont need this :D
     
  7. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha:
     
  8. kyser_soze

    kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC Missouri
    Freeze the studs.

    Throw the hub on a hot plate.
     
  9. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    you forgot the vicks vapor rub part.:mad: geez
     
  10. kyser_soze

    kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC Missouri
    Or the vasoline for taking a wrong turn.:D
     
  11. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Those words don't belong in the same sentence.
     

Share This Page