Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help loss of power

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Dave'90K5, Sep 15, 2006.

1. Dave'90K5

Dave'90K5 Guest

First of all I'm new to the foram and very happy to have found this site!

Can anyone help me figure this out?

My K5 has a 350 sitting behind a stock drivetrain and axles. 3.73 gears.

The truck has no power. I underderstand that the 35's will rob tons on power from my stock set up but I don't even have a passing gear. It's like there is something wrong with the trans kick down? Is this true or is the tires my problem? Thanks!

2. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

35's and 3.73's and a OD tranny, the 35's are the power robbing issue with that gear ratio for the OD tranny.

3. Dave'90K5

Dave'90K5 Guest

What do you reccomend? 4.10's or

4. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

5. Dave'90K5

Dave'90K5 Guest

So by this chart I need 4.56's

Do you think this will bring my passing gear back.. I'm just concerned cause I don't have much wheel speed when I wheelin in mud. I don't want to get stuck cause of the lack of wheel speed....

6. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

If this is mostly a DD, then IMO I'd go with the 4.56's or 4.88's. But if this is mostly a wheeler and will not see a lot of street use, I'd go with 5.13's.

7. Dave'90K5

Dave'90K5 Guest

Thanks for your help. This is just a trail rig my dad and I have. I trying to iron out some of the bugs in our build. Other then the loss in power from the 3.73 gears and 35's do you think there is any harm to the Trans if we wheel it as is for a bit? until we get the $ to change the gears

8. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

I just wouldn't wheel it in the OD gear

9. Dave'90K5

Dave'90K5 Guest

Thanks for the info - Muddy

If anyone else has any input I'm all ears?

10. MattK