Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

help me please

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big dan, Apr 8, 2007.

1. big dan

big dan 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I need some help getting my headlights and tail lights to work. Im not very good at figuring out wiring problems and have tried following wiring diagrams to find where problem areas might be but dont really understand the diagram.

So here is what Ive checked: bulbs are good, tried a new switch, checked all the wires to make sure they were connected and checked all the fuses. all my signal lights and brake lights work. Ive used a test light to see if I was getting power to the bulbs and there is no power at the bulb sockets.

are there any other common problem areas that I could check before I start digging through all the wires? thanks

2. supersize75k5

supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

A few things.. i check with lights..

1. check to see if you are getting power to the fuse

2. check to see if your dimmer switch has power

3. if the top two check out ok and have power..then go wiggle the wiring harness on the engin bay side..

4. if that does not work, take the 4 wires where they come out the firewall and head to the back of the truck and check those 4 wires fow power, also check the wires condition all the way back, exhaust/time/rust/ bad luck can fray or ruin a wire.

5. if those 4 wires check out as working, then head to the back and check the ground wires behind the tail llight support.

6. if still no luck, check for power going to your break light switch,

a real common problem is the ground wires with head lights and tail lights.

good luck i have delt with this same issue on a few trucks

3. big dan

thanks, thats just what I was looking for but raised another question.