Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HELP. Mounting 454 to A 700r4

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ryanstrucking, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. ryanstrucking

    ryanstrucking 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary AB Canada
    Ok.
    Heres my problem. I have my injected 454 mounted wired and ready to go, I installed the tranny and t-cases tonight but I ran across a big problem when I went to bolt my torque converter up to the fle plate of the 454. THE HOLES DIDN'T LINE UP. The holes on the flex plate are 1/2 a hole to large....
    What I mean is: The bolt patterns are half a hole out........
    What has to be done here, is there a different flex plate I can buy or what?
    Any help would be greatly apreciated.
    Ryan
     
  2. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Did you get the correct flexplate for 454?
     
  3. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    GM has a flexplate for the 454 that has both bolt patterns. You must make sure it is for a 454 though as they are externally balanced unlike other GM engines that are internally balanced.
     
  4. ryanstrucking

    ryanstrucking 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary AB Canada
    the flex plate that i have came with the motor. I know like the 400 the bbc are externally balanced and have a different flex plate than a 350. I guess its of to the motor shop todayto see what i can find.
    Regards'
    Ryan
     
  5. hero

    hero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Use a different torque converter. That's what I had to do.
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The torque convertor cost about twice as much as a new flexplate.
     
  7. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
  8. ryanstrucking

    ryanstrucking 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary AB Canada
    Thanks thunder.
    The second link is the flex plate I just picked up today. $50 cdn.
    Off to the garage to r&r the tranny again.
    Later
     

Share This Page