Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help No Headlights

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1BadK-30, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ok here is the thing, one day I go out and start my truck up so cause it has to sit and the headlights work. Another day comes along and i have no headlights and no work was done to it. I have no idea where to start guys, or the know how. Would anyone care to point out the simple stuff to look for first then we can go from there?

    I know the headlights themselfs are not out because my Father has a few other things wired that work off the same thing. Id ask him for thelp but he wont tell me or listen to me...

    Any help is very appreciated.
    Thanks guys
     
  2. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    turn the lights on and wiggle the plug for them. mine were like that.corrosion BABY.that or maybe one of the grounds are bad.
     
  3. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    if that was the cause then why wouldn't the guage pod lights work?


    sorry if im cooming off like a jerk im just really confused and pist off
     
  4. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Well, do they?
     
  5. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    no, nothing works thats wired into the headlights.
     
  6. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    I assume you've double checked all your fuses?
     
  7. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    placed all new ones straight from the box in.
     
  8. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    you said there was other things that worked off the same wires. are they disconected now? if so look for an open connection or broke wire.
     
  9. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Are you sure the problem doesn't lie in the swtich itself? Like Daryl said, if the switch is bitched, you'll lose not only your headlights but also your gauge lights and usually your dome light. Does your dome light come on if you rotate the headlight switch?
     
  10. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    look at the grounds. from sitting, there might be a bad connection.i had alot of problems with this myself.
     
  11. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Not sure if anything is disconected or wires broke, i tried to follow a few wires and from what i could tell they were fine.

    Canmore, the dome light doesn't come on eather. Im starting to think the switch itself is bad but im not sure how i would test it, using a multimeter?
     
  12. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    would you happen to know where the grounds are?


    sorry guys i really have no idea where this stuff is
     
  13. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    what year is your truck bro???
     
  14. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
  15. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    look for the ground wires. each headlight has its own ground on the core support.and there is a ground for the dash lights to the left of the dash.i'm trying to help. i chased ghosts in my wiring for awhile myself.:D
     
  16. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    thanks i really appreciate your help means alot. tomorrow im going to go back at it, to mad right now. is there away to test the light switch?
     
  17. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    that i'm not sure of.don't get pissed,thats how i missed most of my problems.one loose wire is all it takes. tommorow will come and you'll get it fixed.:D
     
  18. NewUser

    NewUser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chattanooga TN
    sounds like the headlight switch is shot to me....or possibly the dimmer switch if its floor mounted :dunno:
     
  19. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    to turn them on is to the left of the collumn, im assuming thats the switch and the dimmer is connected to it.
     
  20. NewUser

    NewUser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chattanooga TN
    your dimmer switch is connected to your turn signal arm if im guessing correctly....the headlight switch is mounted to the left of the steering column in the dash right?.....sounds like the headlight switch is fubarred to me
     

Share This Page