Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

help please: anyway to check electric choke to see if it works ?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big d, Feb 21, 2004.

  1. big d

    big d 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    i have two disassembled electric choke mechanisms here and i may be converting my thermo choke to electric, any way to check to see if the electric's work ? /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif thanks in advance. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  2. bigyellowjimmy

    bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Hook them up to 12v and see if the spring moves.
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    it may not move immediately but like he said. I did this for a while. last year I was running the electric choke manually on my K5, unplugging it when I wanted to shut it off.
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Check to make sure the electric chokes will fit. *SOME* Q-jets won't accept the electric choke, they are cast differently in that area.
     
  5. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I was wondering since we are on electric chokes, does the later 70's with the heat choke and hose bib on casting accept the electric choke? I have a friend (heep owner ) with 2 barrel soon to be q-jet off old car and wants my old electric choke from my original carb ( couldn't bear to pitch it just needs bushed)? I assume youjust slip in electric unit and tighten down the 3 screws.
    /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    IIRC you have to replace all the choke pieces underneath the choke coil as well. I really can't recall why exactly with wouldn't fit. I *think* maybe it was the way the coil mounted to the carb itself.

    Quite a few people have done the swap on here, apparently, I'm the only one thats run into this, so it may be that only one or two vaariants won't fit right.
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page