Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help th400 problem

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by AnthonyG, Apr 7, 2003.

  1. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gillette Wyoming
    I got the tranny all bolted in but I can't move the tork converter to ligh it up it il pressed against the flexplate
    Do you have to lign it up befor you bolt the tranny in or what
     
  2. Don

    Don 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane Washington
    The Converter, should slide easily out of the pump, to attach to the flexplate. Are You replacing a manual trans?

    If so, did You remove the pilot bushing from the crank?
     
  3. Don

    Don 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane Washington
    Did You make sure the converter was all the way in the pump, before You bolted the trans. in? If the converter, wasn't seated in the pump, that could be the problem. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    You'll have to remove the bolt's, and spin and push the converter, to get it to seat. /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif
     
  4. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Yep, the torque converter is not properly indexed with the front pump. You need to pull the converter out a little and spin it and push back in, eventually you will find the spot where it will drop in about an inch further inside. Then when you bolt up the engine and tranny, it should spin freely you'll have to pull the torque converter forewards a little when it bolts up to the flexplate.

    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  5. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gillette Wyoming
    yep the tork converter wasn't all the wat on but we fixed it and it is all good again
     
  6. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,127
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    yeah, you install the converter and keep turning it till you here 2 "clicks"
     

Share This Page