Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

help.....throttle body spacer install on 5.7liter

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by hoppy, May 11, 2003.

1. hoppy

hoppy Registered Member

what the???? they said 30 minute install!!!!! directions to me are very vague. they talk about undoing a wire harness bolt and a line clamp. im no mechanic i look under the vehicle and see all kinds of harnesss and line clamps.
    are the 2 steel lines coming out of the back of the throttle body the lines they are talking about? i think they are. do i need to disconnect everything off the throttle body to get the spacer in? please help this really pissing me off!!!!

2. Shorts

Shorts 1/2 ton status

those steel lines are your fuel lines. yes, it would be wise to disconnect them before you remove the throttle body. i've never installed a TB spacer, but just tag and remove any lines/wires that look at though they'll get stretched when you install the spacer. of course, you'll still need to reconnect them, so make sure they have slack to do so.

3. hoppy

hoppy Registered Member

thanks for the advice.......ill give it another shot today!!!

4. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

30 minutes is like, "as quick as" /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif. I could do it in 30 minutes and I am sure many other mechanically inclined people around here could you will get her done when you get her done.

5. heavy4x4

heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

I've done this mod.