Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HELP! Tranny bellhousing bolts.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Jonny-K5, Jul 10, 2004.

  1. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    im swapping trannies today and im stuck on the top bellhousing bolts. how are you supposed to get to them? i cant even see em. my truck is an 89' so it has a bunch of crap on it. tranny is a 700r4
     
  2. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    LOWER THE BACK OF THE TRANS down about 2 inches you should be able to see them then. from underneath I'm assuming /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  3. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    With everything in place i have gotten it using a 9/16" box end, and stuffing your hand down past the distribuitor....
    You know how the box ends are slightly angled.. use the angle so the wrench points towards the front of the engine.
    (The other way around than i would usually use a box end.)
    Otherwise, ya lower the tranny as far as you can, and some long extensions and a swivel socket might do it.
     
  4. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    ok thanks, i'll give it a try
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I've also RAISED the tranny to tilt the engine forward for better hand clearance for those bolts.

    I'd probably put the bottom two back in though, so that the tranny/engine don't bind up when the bolts are undone up top.
     
  6. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    I used several long extensions with the right sized socket on the end, lay down under it, reach up towards the top of the trans where the bolts are and get'em out. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    You CAN get every bolt out from under the truck.
     
  7. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,343
    Likes Received:
    1,047
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    I lay a 2x4 across the fenders and lay over the engine with my chest on the 2x4 and legs on the core support. Then it's easier to get the bolts out with a box end wrench.
     
  8. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    a snapon impact swivel socket and 4 feet of extensions
     
  9. oilburner

    oilburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montgomery, NY
    The best way I have to get those bolts is by lowering the tranny&tcase combo until the Dist. is about to hit the firewall, then use every 3/8 extension you have to reach up and get them from underneath. My trucks are tall enough that you can sit on the ground behind the Tcase and look forward and up, and see the bolts. If you can see 'em, you can get several feet of extension on 'em.
    G /forums/images/graemlins/crewcab.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  10. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    [ QUOTE ]
    The best way I have to get those bolts is by lowering the tranny&tcase combo until the Dist. is about to hit the firewall, then use every 3/8 extension you have to reach up and get them from underneath.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    this is what i did to get those bolts out, now im putting the new tranny in today, whats the best way to get those back in? . any tricks for doing this? should i try to get them in with the extension or wiggle my hands up in there.
     
  11. oilburner

    oilburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montgomery, NY
    If you have a stiff 3/8 drive universal joint or universal socket (esp one with the spring around it), use it on the end of the long extensions. Start the bolts WITHOUT using the ratchet (so as not to cross threads), then put the ratchet on and torque to spec. Of course, if you can get an arm in there, that may prove easier - I never could fit my arms up there /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    G /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/crewcab.gif
     
  12. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    I have no carpet in my '78 so pulled the access cover off that sits over the trans when I changed it and those top bolts are right there in front of you...piece of cake! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    I have no carpet in my '78 so pulled the access cover off that sits over the trans when I changed it and those top bolts are right there in front of you...piece of cake! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I was reading down through this thread wondering when someone was gonna mention that. I just installed my motor last night and used that method. No tranny tunnel cover makes it waay easy. You can reach in there and start the bolts with your hand. Then use two 6" extensions and a universal to tighten them up. /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  14. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    I'll take this /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  15. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    [ QUOTE ]
    I was reading down through this thread wondering when someone was gonna mention that. I just installed my motor last night and used that method. No tranny tunnel cover makes it waay easy.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Because the later tunnels are welded in place.
     
  16. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    [ QUOTE ]
    Because the later tunnels are welded in place.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    thats what i thought, i didnt see any bolt holes from underneith.

    well its all back together now, thanks for the help everyone~ /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  17. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I was reading down through this thread wondering when someone was gonna mention that. I just installed my motor last night and used that method. No tranny tunnel cover makes it waay easy.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Because the later tunnels are welded in place.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    DOH!!!!!!
    Haven't had the carpet up on my '91. /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page