Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help Tranny Guru's - 700R4 problems

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by the beast, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. the beast

    the beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    I just re-installed my 700R4 that I had built. My problem is that it's not shifting as I think it should with a shift kit installed and it shudders under moderate load. It's ok when cruising, or when given light pedal, but when you nail it I get a lot of vibration.

    And yes, cause I know it's the first thing you'll ask, I adjusted the TV cable. twice.

    We're at a bit of a loss here. :dunno:
     
  2. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    Are you sure it is tranny and not axle wrap causing the vibes? If you rebuilt it you could have less slippage and more power through the driveline causing the axle to wrap up. Just a suggestion.

    Ira
     
  3. 1985_K5_Silverado

    1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corn Country
    Can you be more specifc about how it's shifting, and how you expect it to shift? Also, what is the brand and model number of the shift kit?
     
  4. 1985_K5_Silverado

    1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corn Country
    Have you done anything at all with the torque converter?
     
  5. the beast

    the beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    I had it rebuilt be a pro, w/ a very good rep.

    I expect the shifts to be firmer with a kit. This feels almost stock. I'm not sure of the kit. I think he said he combines parts out of B&M and Trans-go (?) kits.

    It's a new convertor.
     
  6. the beast

    the beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    The vibe I think is too rapid to be caused by axle wrap. And it's not that severe. It's almost like a u-joint about to grenade, but I know those are good.
     
  7. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Is the TCC solenoid wired up(Tourque Converter Clutch).
    Almost sounds like it's engageing too early.
    Does this only happen after it goes into 4th or in all gears?

    If mods have been done to the trans it's possible one of the wires to the pressure switches got connected wrong allowing the TCC solenoid to engage at too low of a pressure and RPM.
     
  8. gmcman355

    gmcman355 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    If you're sure the tv cable is adjusted properly check the line pressure at the port in the side of the trans. Don't remember exact specs but think somewhere around 100 psi warm in drive at idle. reverse will be higher. shift kit should probably raise it above specs a little. might also be worthwhile to check governor assy and be sure the valve in it isn't sticking
     
  9. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Did you install it or the shop? I'd check all fasteners first. I know it sounds dumb but if any are just slightly lose it humm. Especially the crossmember.
     
  10. 87350blaz

    87350blaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    hate to change the subject..........:crazy:

    but what does a normal shift for the 700 feel like

    just wondering because mine shifts hard in all gears (depending on the skinny pedal position)
    trans guy says it feels like a shift kit was installed in it
     
  11. yoshisv

    yoshisv 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hartsville, Tennessee
    When i was running a 700r4 i had it rebuilt , And a corvette servo installed. It shifted so hard that it broke the carrier bearing off of two differentials in the stock 10 bolt rearend. When it was stock it shifted smooth as silk.
     
  12. johnathan

    johnathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ocean Springs,MS
    When should the converter lockup what speed????mine about 35 mph
     
  13. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    It "should" lock-up in 4th,when above 45-50mph
     
  14. johnathan

    johnathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ocean Springs,MS
    mine locks up in drive or overdrive before fourth gear.What should I do,
    check????:crazy: :crazy: :confused: :confused:
     
  15. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    some models are wired to lock up in 3rd and 4th, most however are wired to lock up in 4th.

    it should lock up just before cruising speed, there are alot of different ways they are wired to lockup, and different speeds they lockup depending on what way its wired.
     
  16. johnathan

    johnathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ocean Springs,MS
    What activates the lockup,can the lockup speed be changed?I never have liked it locking up that early.
     
  17. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    There are 3 pressure switches attached to the valve body they work along with a signal from the orig car's commputor.

    My TCI 700R4 was wired up with one of their kit's.It takes a reading of manifold pressure and will only allow the trans to shift into O/D if there is enough vacume(low load).It also has to be in 4th.
    There is an electrical solenoid that diverts fluid in the valve body to lock-up the Tourque Converter.Basically just 12v Pos. is needed to activate the TCC.
    here is the kit I have on my 700R4
    Look for the Universal Lockup Kit near the bottom of this page.
    http://tciauto.com/gm/gm_4L60E.htm
    http://tciauto.com/instructions/376600_inst.htm


    The kit will allow me to wire it so it can go into O/D in 2nd,3rd or 4th but I didn't want that.
     
  18. gmcman355

    gmcman355 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    if you're concerned about the t/c clutch causing the problem try gently riding the brake pedal basically just enough to turn the brake lights on. the brake switch disables the tcc solenoid unless you have hydraulic leakage in the the trans from bad gaskets or cracked components
     
  19. the beast

    the beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    Bob, I plugged everything in. I'll re-check the connections.

    GMC, I'll have to get that checked.

    Southern, checked all the fasteners....twice.

    Will driving it like this damage the tranny? I don't want to mess with the warranty.
     

Share This Page