Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help tryin' to wire tach!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by santana, Mar 20, 2003.

  1. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    Ive got the power, ground, and the lights hooked up but I cant figure out where to hook up the ignition wire on a 84' 350 with a HEI dist. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. chillywilly

    chillywilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    northern maine
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    Look on your dist cap,should have batt wire and 1 male terminal next to it.Stick a female terminal on your wire and stand on your head to get it in good and tight lol. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  3. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    No luck, cant see wire, where is it at, I see 3 coming out from front and going back in on the driver side of dist. and 2 coming from driver side but no wire with male plug on it.
     
  4. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    does your coil sit on top of your dist. cap or next to it on the manifold?
     
  5. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    On top of dist. cap.
     
  6. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    the dist. cap on my '85 had a spot next to the battery hookup that had tach written on it. I know that's where we plugged in the tach on the '78 that my brother used to have.
     
  7. noJeepshere

    noJeepshere I Drive Trains! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Posts:
    8,595
    Likes Received:
    768
    Location:
    City of Sand, UT
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    The distributor cap on my 250 i6 has a spot labeled for the tach right next to the ignition wire. dont know if its the same on a 350, but if its the factory cap, there shouldnt be any reason for there not to be. good luck. electronics are annoying. /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
    /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  8. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    Is it a pink wire next to a thicker gauge wire in the driver side of the dist? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  9. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    Got it going, Thanks fellas /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  10. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    Re: Help tryin\' to wire tach!

    glad we could help. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page