Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help w/ Carb Rebuild

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by johnny reb, Mar 9, 2000.

1. johnny reb

johnny reb 1/2 ton status

I think I'm going to rebuild my carb this weekend. It's a Rochester QuadraJet. I'm going to get a rebuild kit but I have never done this before. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Boss

Boss 1/2 ton status Author

I recommend you get "Rochester Quadrajet" book by David Roe. A couple people from this board recommended it to me a while ago when I needed to rebuild and tune my Quad. I ordered mine from Amazon.com, but you can get it from summit racing too for about the same w/free shipping depending on your location. Or you can search local book stores for it. This book will give you invaluable information on everything you need to know about your carb. Hope this will help you and good luck.
    Boss

3. 79Cheyenne

79Cheyenne 1/2 ton status

I had planned on rebuilding my quad also, untill I found you can get a remanufactured one for about $120 with the exchange. It was remanufactured by Champion Parts the first one I put on was leaky so I took it back and swapped it. The second one is still running fine. Just in case you don't have the time or patience to do a rebuild.

<font color=orange>1979 BLAZER Cheyenne[​IMG]

4. Blazer79

Blazer79 1/2 ton status

I have that book and it's great. I'd recommend you read it before you get started with the rebuild.