Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

HELP with 73 K5 mods....please

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by migs73soft_top, Feb 24, 2004.

1. migs73soft_top

migs73soft_top Registered Member

Hello fellow K5'ers. Although I have been viewing this site for about three years now (since I purchased my project) I am just now joining the membership because I finally have some time and a little funding to begin some of the modifications to my ride that I have read about over the last few years here. The first projects will be exterior fixing rust and body work and painting. I would like to swap out the doors first of all for some doors with power windows and locks. I realize that these doors will need to be cut in order to fit my application. My question to the forum is what is the newest year model that can I begin looking for at the salvage yards in order to give me the best results? Secondly.....I read a few post about a year ago where a member swapped out his front seats for seats out of a Dodge pick-up (bench seat with center flip up console). He had pics and everything. I have read many of the seat swap post and I was most impressed with the looks of this one. Can anyone tell me how to search for this post in the archives or give me any info on a similar swap. Thanks in advance for all your help.
    Mig

2. BAJA_BLAZER

BAJA_BLAZER 1/2 ton status Author

Truck doors through 1987 and Blazer/Suburban doors through 1991. Use your old doors for templates. there are several different angle cuts required. I also used the inside support brackets from the old doors and welded them in the new ones. It took a couple of hours.

3. migs73soft_top