Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help with auto to manuel hubs?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Jimmy84, Oct 28, 2001.

1. Jimmy84

Jimmy84 Registered Member

i need some help on how to get my old hubs apart. i'm pretty new at this and my chiltons just doesnt help. i took the 6 screws out and the cap of the hub. then took out the first retaining clip and the spring came out. i need to know how to get the rest out, do i need a special tool or what. appreciate the help.
    jarret

2. k5king

k5king 1/2 ton status

<font color=purple>you need to get a hub removal tool from auto zone or pep boy's or napa,,they're like $30. it's just a big 3" socket. if you use a chisel and hammer you can gingerly tap it out,,it's threaded on like a nut.

<font color=purple>ANYBODY LOSE THEIR JEEP????????[​IMG]
    I JUST FOUND ONE UNDER MY BLAZER!!!![​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]</font color=green>

3. k5king

k5king 1/2 ton status

<font color=purple>,,ok,,forget that,,not thinking straight today.. did you remove the large ring clip on the outer edge on the inside of the hub ? if so,,i think that's all to come out isn't it ? you shouldn't need to take off the hub for anything else. if the clip is still in there then use several very small screw drivers or dental pick's to get it out. sorry,,been a while since i even looked at mine and did one.

4. ArrowheadK5

ArrowheadK5 1/2 ton status

You don't have to take the spindle nuts off ot take the auto hubs out, do you? I don't think he was referring to the whole hub assembly, just the auto-locking hub. Correct me if I'm wrong...[​IMG]

The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants.
    --Thomas Jefferson

5. k5king

k5king 1/2 ton status