Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Help With Autometer Fuel Gauge...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by HEAVY METAL, Oct 21, 2006.

  1. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    anybody put an autometer fuel gauge into their chevy trucks?....i installed mine.. thinkin thta i was using right wires... but it only mrreads past full?

    help please......:confused:
     
  2. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Sounds like your sender line is grounded....
     
  3. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    k.. how do i fix thta.. i spliced ointo the factory line at the cluster plug... reverse the sender/ power
     
  4. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    DO NOT put 12 volts to the sender post! You WILL fry the gauge...

    Your gauge should have 3 posts, ign, grd and sender...
     
  5. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    yes it does... ign is hooked fine...i spliced into two wires in the plug.... should i just run my gauge to its own ground?
     
  6. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Sure... You should have a 6 male spade grd terminal over to the left on the inner hinge post....

    Forget what color you sender wire should be, maybe tan/white stripe... You can always run your own sender wire too...
     
  7. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    k i'll try that.. let ya know... thanks eh!
     
  8. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    k... has own ground, its own ign source at the fuse panel... followed fatory wiring on factory gauge cluster chased it to a pink with black stipe wire.....still overfull...
     
  9. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Does it go to empty with the ignition off?
     
  10. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    nope...stays completley full .. when i turn ign on it moves back a lil bit....
     
  11. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Disconnect whatever you have as a send wire and see what it does with ign off and on...
     
  12. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    the needle moves closer to the full line......
     
  13. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    i htink my gauge is fukered.....
     
  14. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Sounds like it... Even just a quick shot of 12 to that sender can screw em up... :(
     
  15. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Not all gauges are created equal, you must have a guage that matches the Ohms resistance of your sender. Make sure you have the correct gauge, most GM senders are 0-90 Ohms.
     
  16. Avery4jc

    Avery4jc 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca.
    ok, I'll ask the dumb question...how much gas do you have?

    My gas guage works and when I fill it all the way up it sits above the F for a while...then it starts to go down...its just the shape of the tank.

    -Avery
     
  17. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    thanks man.. double checked the part number.. right one..4414.....i rdered a nother gauge... we'll see onmonday...
     
  18. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Now to comment on your avatar, those looks good. Who do those belong too?
     
  19. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    my wife.......:D
     
  20. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Are you serious, if so i'm really jealous. :D
     

Share This Page